Skip to content  Skip to main menu


Bus travel information can be found at

From Prague by car:

Follow the D11 motorway in the direction of Hradec Králové and take exit No. 84 in the direction of Pardubice. A vignette is required for motorway travel and it can be purchased from any petrol station, the Czech Post Office or at the border. 

City transport in Pardubice
has been provided by the Pardubice Transport Company (Dopravní podnik města Pardubic a.s.) for more than 67 years. The current system includes about 30 regular routes, 11 of which are by trolley buses. Additional information about the city transport is available on the city transport company’s webpages at

Ice-hockey – hockey club HC Dynamo Pardubice, the six times winner of the Czechoslovak and Czech top extra league in 1972/1973, 1986/1987, 1988/1989, 2004/2005, 2009/2010, 2011/2012. The club resides in the modern ČSOB Pojišťovna ARENA. The first match took place on a lake called Matiční in 1913 and the first club called LTC Pardubice was founded in1923. In 2011 Pardubice became famous by being the first club playing an extra league game with Kometa Brno in the open air. The local hockey team’s games are one of the most visited games in Europe and the most visited games in the Czech Republic.

Velká Pardubická Steeplechase –
the most difficult race on the continent and the second most difficult in the world. It has been held annually since 1874 every autumn at the Racecourse. The most famous jockey of the race is Josef Váňa, who has won this race a number of times. The first winner of Velka Pardubicka was stallion Fantome. The race is run over distance of 6,900m, with horses jumping 31 fences. The horses run the race in 10 minutes. During the year there are more steeplechase events in the Pardubice Agrofert race course. More information on the web.

Czech Open –
the biggest chess tournament in all over the world. Apart from chess, other games such as scrabble, bridge, poker are played at this event.

Pardubická juniorka (Tennis Junior Championship) –
a prestige championship of the Czech Republic of single junior tennis players. It has been held since 1926 at the tennis courts of LTCPardubice. Winners of past championships include Ivan Lendl, Martina Navrátilová, Petra Kvitová, Tomáš Berdych and others.